Thursday, 31 March 2016

21st Annual First Year Mile

Congratulations to all involved in organising the 21st Annual First Year Mile. Over one hundred first year students took part in what has become an eagerly awaited athletic event in the school calendar. The mile route was mapped out from early in the morning, the sun shone and a large number of students and staff were on hand to encourage all those participating in the run. First past the post in the girls competition was Olwyn followed closely by Andrea and Emer in joint second place.
Lee took the honours in the boys race with Seth and David in second and third place.
During the presentations in the Sports Hall, Mr. Sutton congratulated all who took part in the run and pointed out that this years' winners joined a list of  illustrious past winners which includes former Olympians and Irish Athletic record holders.
Last years' winners, Harry and Lizzy, presented the winners trophies to Lee and Olwyn. Congratulations to all involved in this event.