Monday, 17 December 2018

Sunday, 9 December 2018

Armistice Day 2018

Armistice Day
Memorial Service

On Monday November 12th 2018 Villiers School held an Armistice Day Memorial Service.
The service commenced with Full Colours on Parade. The Headmistress, escorted by Lt. Gerard O’Donoghue , laid a wreath in memory of all past pupils who died in all wars. 
Throughout the service staff members and students remembered those lost in war through poetry readings, music and a two minute silence.
The school community was honoured to be joined by representatives of the Organisation of National Ex-Servicemen Patrick Sarsfield Branch (O.N.E), Irish United Nations Veterans Association (I.U.N.V.A) Post 6, Limerick Branch of the Royal British LegionIrish Air Corps Veterans Association, Limerick Branch of the Naval Veterans Association and Don Phelan, Bugler.
Many thanks to Mr. Sean Collopy for organising the service.

Saturday, 1 December 2018

Senior Boys Hockey

sporting-limerick-smallNovember 27th 2018

Villiers Senior Boys Hockey side travelled to Waterford last Wednesday to take on the current All Ireland Schools Champions Newtown in the 1/4 final of the Munster Schools Cup.
The Limerick side avenged a recent loss to the same opposition in the All Ireland Qualifiers with a 2-1 victory in what was a fiercely contested match between two quality sides that have developed a real rivalry. 
Villiers got off to a perfect start with Eli Hannon scoring an opportunist goal in the first few minutes to unsettle the host team. The visitors then consolidated their lead towards the end of the first half with a well taken goal by striker Quinten Eacrett.  

The Villiers defence was rock solid and withstood some late pressure from Newtown. Eventually the pressure counted as the Waterford side converted a controversial penalty stroke through Ben Johnson to reduce the arrears. There was a late chance for Newton to equalise but Villiers keeper Leon Mullally pulled off a vital save to ensure victory for the Limerick side. 
Villiers: Leon Mullally GK, Sam Lilburn (Capt.), Bryan Smith, Christian Oggel, Adam Gardiner, Marcus Ryan, Stephen Tutty, Garrett Sparling, Cian Sparling, Eli Hannon, Quinten Eacrett, Christopher Ryan, Kristoffer Yohansson, Guellermo Espinos, Reuben Wheeler. Head Coach: Brian Gray. Manager: George Blackwell.